Review: Tartelette Palette

After a short break from the wee ol’ blog here (life got in the way!) I’m back!

DSCN0523

A few weeks ago I picked up the new Tartelette Amazonian Clay Matte Eyeshadow Palette from Sephora. And I’m happy to report back that I absolutely love it!

I’ll be honest though – when it was first released I wasn’t interested in it at all. I had picked up a holiday set from Tarte last year and ended up being pretty disappointed with the eye shadows. They were very dry and patchy & they didn’t go on my eyelids smoothly. Overall they were pretty much duds! Sad, right?

Back to this new release, I had no intention of buying it, but secretly admitted that shadows looked lovely and I really liked that it was an all matte palette. I use matte shadows for my crease in almost all my looks, so the palette would come in handy, but again, I still felt a bit burned by the holiday palette I bought.

DSCN0525

Well I was in Sephora picking up a few other items and I decided to give the palette a little swatch and get a feel for the shadows in person. And oh my! They felt lovely and swatched great. Color me intrigued! I tucked that baby in my Sephora bag right that second.

(Side note: I always prefer to check out eyeshadows in person versus ordering blindly online, you just never know what you’re gonna get when you only have a picture online to make a decision.)

I’ve been happily using this palette almost every day since I bought it. The first row of shadows are perfect brow bone highlight shades, and the second row is perfect for building up my crease. The third and fourth row are going to be super fun when I want a more dramatic look! I don’t do those very often though. I would have to say that my favorite shades are Natural Beauty and Best Friend.

DSCN0524

I think my favorite part of the palette is the fact that it’s really reasonably priced! It’s $44 for 12 matte shades that all work really well together. And the setup of the shadows within the palette make it really easy to create simple but beautiful eye looks. This palette will be very loved in 2015, I just know it!

Swatches below the cut!

Have you tried this palette? Do you love it as much as I do?

DSCN0528

Left to right: Fashionista, Free Spirit, Caregiver, Supermom, Force of Nature, Natural Beauty, Wanderer, Dreamer, Best Friend, Power Player, Multi-tasker and Bombshell

2 thoughts on “Review: Tartelette Palette

    • Melissa says:

      That’s so funny! I got the Tarte holiday blush set too and I loved it. But I really like Tarte blushes! I agree though – the holiday sets can be super hit or miss! I’m really glad I checked out this palette in person, they turned out great.

      Like

Leave a comment