Mid-Week Mani

It’s been a very dreary and snow filled week in Chicago (more than 20 inches of snow) so I was feeling that my nails needed a little TLC and a bright new color.

DSCN0444

Ahh, all the tools I used!  Here’s how I went about my mid-week manicure.

Step 1: Remove old nail polish.

I’m a fan of this Target brand nail polish remover by Up & Up – the pink version works really well for me. (The purple version sucks, don’t buy it!) I also prefer using the exfoliating cotton rounds because they remove nail polish much easier than the regular cotton rounds available at Target.

Step 2: Use sugar scrub to exfoliate and soften hands.

I use this sugar scrub that I picked up while ago from Sally Beauty Supply. You could also probably make your own sugar scrub at home with sugar & coconut oil. I’m almost out of my sugar scrub, so I may try some DIY scrubs next!

Step 3: Use hand cream to hydrate and soften skin.

I use First Aid Beauty’s Ultra Repair Cream for this step. I usually have a 2oz bottle stashed away in my purse because I suffer from extremely dry hands & cuticles. It has a nice thick consistency, but doesn’t leave my hands feel greasy. It sinks in to my skin in seconds!

DSCN0454

Step 4: Use Sally Hansen Hard As Nails as a base coat. (Note: I use this as base & top coat as it leaves a beautiful glossy finish.)

Step 5: Paint nails with bright and fun color! In my case, I picked the Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in the shade Blue My Mind.

Step 6: As mentioned above, I again use the Sally Hansen Hard As Nails as my top coat – leaving a lovely shine.

Step 7: After waiting for my nails to completely dry, I drop on Orly’s Argan Oil Cuticle Drops and let them soak into my cuticles. Gotta take care of those super dry cuticles of mine!

And here’s my end result! Not perfect but it will do the job. That’s what at-home manicures are for, right?

DSCN0442Do you have any shades of polish you’re loving at the moment? What are your favorite nail polish brands to use? 

 

 

Leave a Reply

