Marc Jacobs’ Little Black Box

A few months ago I picked up the Marc Jacobs The Sky-Liner Seven Piece Petite Highliner Collection ($45available at Sephora) because I had received a deluxe sample of the liner in Brown(out) and I was quite impressed with it. I had been on the hunt for an eyeliner that I could use on my tight line without smudging or transferring and the sample was working out really well for me!

As I was searching for the full size in both brown and black I found the petite set. I was excited about that because I don’t usually go through my eyeliner very quickly, and I thought it would be a great opportunity to try out some other colors. Gotta love those pops of color, right?

IMG_0004

The packaging is to die for! But that’s to be expected from Marc Jacobs. Sleek, modern and timeless.

So how did the liners fair in the long run? The liners come in a Gel-like formula, very creamy and pigmented — super easy to smudge out, if that’s the look you want. But once the product sets, it is set! I think that makes the eyeliners so versatile.  With the exception of the black, they all come with a bit of a metallic sheen to them. Some may not like that but it’s something that I really like.

IMG_0008

I still love Brown(out) the most for tight lining. I found that Blacquer was a bit too creamy at times but workable. I use it the most at the base of my lashes and then smudge it out a little. The other colors are just really fun to play with! I really like Sunset (golden bronze shimmer) when I’m working with warm toned shadows.

One downside? The black was almost a bit too creamy and I had difficulty with the product wanting to break off of the packaging. I have to use a gentle hand when applying. However, I did not have this issue with any of the other colors.

Have you tried the Marc Jacobs Highliners? If not, what are some of your favorite liners? 

Swatches below!

IMG_0024

From right to left: O(vert) (forest green), (Plum)age (vivid purple), Sunset (golden bronze shimmer), Midnight in Paris (inky indigo blue), Th(ink) (deep navy), Brown(out) (bronze with shimmer), and Blacquer (black)

IMG_0040

Leave a Reply

